Friday, February 3, 2017

More Than 100 Members Of Congress Call For DHS Briefing This Week On Trump Muslim Ban Executive Order

Washington, DC– More than 100 Members of the U.S. House of Representatives, led by House Judiciary Committee Member Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), House Judiciary Committee Ranking Member John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI), and House Judiciary Subcommittee on Immigration and Border Security Ranking Member Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), wrote to the Secretary of Homeland Security John F. Kelly condemning the President’s Muslim ban executive order and calling for a full Member-wide briefing no later than Friday, February 3, 2017.

In their letter, the Members wrote, “We hope you will urge the President to immediately rescind the Executive Order, which has created profound chaos and fear among refugees and immigrants who have been admitted to the United States, as well as their families. As a nation of immigrants that has been a refuge for people fleeing persecution from around the world, these actions are contrary to who we are as a nation.”

On Tuesday, Secretary Kelly briefly met on the hill with a few select Committee Chairmen and Ranking Members. The Members are calling for a full Member-wide briefing on the Executive Order this week, writing, “Given the urgency, widespread confusion and dangerous impact of the Executive Order, we would appreciate hearing from you as quickly as possible so that we may ensure the briefing occurs by no later than Friday, February 3.  The lives and well-being of many individuals, as well as our ability to partner with foreign governments to fight terrorism, depends on it.”

Signators of the letter:

1. Rep. John Conyers, Jr,
2. Rep. Zoe Lofgren, Rep.,
3. Rep. Pramila Jayapal,
4. Rep. Pete Aguilar,
5. Rep. Nanette Diaz Barragán,
6. Rep. Karen Bass,
7. Rep. Joyce Beatty,
8. Rep. Donald S. Beyer, Jr.
9. Rep. Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.,
10. Rep. Earl Blumenauer
11. Rep. Suzanne Bonamici,
12. Rep. Robert A. Brady
13. Rep. Anthony Brown,
14. Rep. G.K. Butterfield,
15. Rep. Salud Carbajal,
16. Rep. Tony Cárdenas,
17. Rep. Joaquin Castro
18. Rep. Judy Chu,
19. Rep. David N. Cicilline,
20. Rep. Yvette D. Clarke,
21. Rep. Wm. Lacy Clay
22. Rep. Emanuel Cleaver,
23. Rep. James E. Clyburn,
24. Rep. Steve Cohen,
25. Rep. Jim Cooper,
26. Rep. Luis J. Correa,
27. Rep. Joseph Crowley
28. Rep. Elijah E. Cummings
29. Rep. Susan A. Davis,
30. Rep. Peter A. DeFazio,
31. Rep. Rosa L. DeLauro,
32. Rep. Suzan K. DelBene
33. Rep. Theodore E. Deutch,
34. Rep. Debbie Dingell
35. Rep. Lloyd Doggett,
36. Rep. Keith Ellison,
37. Rep. Elliot L. Engel,
38. Rep. Anna G. Eshoo,
39. Rep. Adriano Espaillat,
40. Rep. Dwight Evans,
 41. Rep. Marcia L. Fudge,
42. Rep. Ruban Gallego
43. Rep. John Garamendi,
44. Rep. Raúl M. Grijalva,
45. Rep. Luis Gutierrez,
46. Rep. Colleen Hanabusa,
47. Rep. Alcee L. Hastings,
48. Rep. Denny Heck
49. Rep. Jarred Huffman,
50. Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee,
51. Rep. Hakeem S. Jeffries,
52. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson
53. Rep. Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr.,
54. Rep. Marcy Kaptur,
55. Rep. Robin L. Kelly,
56. Rep. Derek Kilmer,
57. Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi,
58. Rep. Ann M. Kuster
59. Rep. Rick Larsen,
60. Rep. Barbara Lee,
61. Rep. Sandy Levin,
62. Rep. John Lewis,
63. Rep. Nita M. Lowey,
64. Rep. Stephen F. Lynch,
65. Rep. Carolyn B. Maloney,
66. Rep. Doris O. Matsui,
67. Rep. Donald A. McEachin,
68. Rep. James P. McGovern
69. Rep. Gregory W. Meeks
70. Rep. Gwen Moore,
71. Rep. Seth Moulton,
72. Rep. Stephanie Murphy,
73. Rep. Jerrold Nadler,
74. Rep. Richard E. Neal
75. Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr.,
76. Rep. Jimmy Panetta,
77. Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr.
78. Rep. Collin C. Peterson
79. Rep. Chellie Pingree,
80. Rep. Mark Pocan,
81. Rep. Jared Polis
82. Rep. Mike Quigley,
83. Rep. Jamie Raskin,
84. Rep. Cedric L. Richmond,
85. Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard,
86. Rep. C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger,
87. Rep. Bobby L. Rush,
88. Rep. Linda T. Sanchez,
89. Rep. John P. Sarbanes,
90. Rep. Adam B. Schiff
91. Rep. Bradley Scott Schneider
92. Rep. Bobby Scott,
93. Rep. Terri Sewell,
94. Rep. Jan Schakowsky,
95. Rep. Carol Shea-Porter,
96. Rep. Louise McIntosh Slaughter,
97. Rep. Adam Smith,
98. Rep. Darren Soto,
99. Rep. Thomas R. Souzzi,
100. Rep. Jackie Speier,
101. Rep. Eric Swalwell,
102. Rep. Mark Takano,
103. Rep. Bennie Thompson
104. Rep. Paul D. Tonko,
105. Rep. Norma J. Torres,
106. Rep. Niki Tsongas,
107. Rep. Marc Veasy,
108. Rep. Filemon Vela,
109. Rep. Nydia Velsaquez,
110. Rep. Timothy J. Walz
111. Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz,
112. Rep. Maxine Waters
113. Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman,
114. Rep. John A. Yarmuth

Voting is beautiful, be beautiful ~ vote.©

No comments:

Post a Comment