Wednesday, February 22, 2017

CONYERS Announces 2017 Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame Nominees

Image may contain: 6 people, people standing
U.S. Representative John Conyers, Jr. announces induction nominees for the 2017 Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame press conference, February 21, 2017.

2017 Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame inductees announced in Detroit

DETROIT - The 2017 Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame inductees were announced Tuesday in Detroit. 
The news conference was at 2 p.m. at Bert's Entertainment Complex on Russell Street.

The Rhythm and Blues Hall of Fame have named 25 artists and industry leaders for possible induction in 2017.

Here's the news release ahead of the announcement:

Among the major artists nominated are Mitch Ryder, New Edition, Stevie Wonder, Gladys Knight & The Pips, Patti LaBelle, Sam & Dave, James Brown, and The Impressions, while non-artists included TV Host and entrepreneur Dick Clark, executives Berry Gordy from Motown, Gamble & Huff of Philadelphia International Records, Clive Davis of Columbia and Arista, and both radio personalities Ernie Durham and Martha the Jean Queen.

Ten(10) music icons from this year's 2017 list will emerge from the voting that will be announced on February 21, at Bert's Entertainment and will be inducted into the Hall on June 11, at The Music Hall in Detroit, Michigan. Tickets will go on sale at the Music Hall box office on February 22, you can order your tickets by calling (313) 887-8500. The new inductees will bring the total for the Hall to 160. Last year's 2016 induction ceremony saw the likes of TV-One founder Cathy Hughes, Dionne Warwick, Eddie Floyd, Wilson Pickett, Mack Rice, The Supremes.

The Rhythm and Blues Hall of Fame was founded in 2010 by former pro basketball player and R&B music activist and historian  LaMont "Showboat" Robinson for his love of R&B music and his large collection of memorabilia. When he decided he wanted to donate some of his rare artifacts to a worthy organization, he found that none existed hall of fame for rhythm and blues artist(s) so he started the organization to recognize the accomplishments of artists in R&B, Jazz, Gospel and Blues.
The Hall of Fame is currently in major discussing with a well know entertainment, music bushiness group in Detroit to build this state-of-the-arts institution.

This year's nominees:

Bobby "Blue" Bland
Dick Clark
Clive Davis
Gamble & Huff
Berry Gordy
Isaac Hayes
Bob Seger
Stevie Wonder
Mitch Ryder
Ernie Durham
Martha Jean the Queen
The Impressions
The Valadiers
Patti LaBelle
Frankie Lymon & the Teenagers
Billy Paul
Gladys Knight & The Pips
Carolyn Crawford
Mary Wells
James Brown
Joe Tex
Carl Carlton
Berry White
Sam & Dave
New Edition

Voting is beautiful, be beautiful ~ vote.©

No comments:

Post a Comment