Friday, May 11, 2012

Conyers to Join President Obama in Honoring Detroit’s TOP COPS

(WASHINGTON) – This Saturday, Representative John Conyers, Jr. (D-Mich.) will join President Obama at a White House ceremony honoring the National Association of Police Organizations’ (“NAPO”) TOP COPS award winners.  Since 1994, NAPO has conferred TOP COPS awards on law enforcement officers from around the country for performing actions above and beyond the call of duty during the preceding year.  Among this year’s award winners are 15 officers from the Detroit Police Department.  They earned this honor for stopping a gunman in January 2011 who suddenly attacked the officers upon entering their precinct station.      
U.S. Representative John Conyers, Jr. at swearing in of
Hamtramck Police Chjief Maxwell Garbarino
“I’m proud to join President Obama in honoring these officers, who through a combination of training and personal courage, responded to a gunman who suddenly opened fire upon them within the safety  of their own precinct,” said Conyers.  “Although some were wounded, the officers stopped the assailant and no one but the gunman died that afternoon.  Our police officers work hard to protect us from harm, and we must do all we can to support them as part of a comprehensive effort to prevent crime. 

“That is why I have introduced H.R. 4098, ‘the Shield Our Streets Act’, to establish two new programs to supplement existing grants to help local governments in high crime areas hire more officers and fund public safety programs.  Police officers put their lives on the line to protect our cities and they deserve recognition for their willingness to sacrifice on our behalf.  But Congress also needs to do more to ensure that police officers, like those being honored, have all the tools necessary to get the job done and return home safely to their families.”

The names of this year’s TOP COPS honorees from the Detroit Police Department follow below.

Police Officer Melissa Adams
Police Officer David Anderson
Sergeant Marcellus A. Ball
Police Officer Bradley Clark
Police Officer Rodney Cushingberry
Commander Brian L. Davis
Sergeant Tyrone Guinn
Sergeant Michael Ingels
Police Officer Theodore Jackson, Jr.
Sergeant James Kirklin
Police Officer Lacell D. Rue
Sergeant Ray Toufic Saati
Sergeant Carrie Schulz
Investigator Amir G. Smith
Sergeant Joseph Turner, Jr.

For more information on the National Association of Police Organizations’ TOP COPS award follow this link.

Voting is beautiful, be beautiful ~ vote.©

No comments:

Post a Comment